Pharmacy : Websites

Prescription drug information, interactions & side effects, drug identification

From University of Liverpool, "
To provide a clinically useful, reliable, comprehensive, up-to-date, evidence-based drug-drug interaction resource, freely available to healthcare workers, patients and researchers."

From the School of Pharmacy at the University of North Carolina, this educational site provides tutorials for pharmaceutical compounding.

Index for information on prescription drugs. Includes drug identifier.

First published in 1899 as a small reference book for physicians and pharmacists, The Manual grew in size and scope to become one of the most widely used comprehensive medical resources for professionals and consumers.

For more than 60 years, the Merck Veterinary Manual (MVM) has provided veterinarians and other animal health professionals with concise and authoritative information on diseases and management of food-producing, companion, laboratory, and exotic animals.

"This database includes a codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government. Title 21 of the CFR is reserved for rules of the Food and Drug Administration. "

Links to Laws, Acts and Rules, Enforcement Activities, Compounding and more.

Contains Notices, Proposed Rules, Final Rules, and Presidential Documents

"The Model State Pharmacy Act and Model Rules of the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (Model Act) provides the boards of pharmacy with model language that may be used when developing state laws or board rules. The Model Act includes sections on the boards of pharmacy, licensing (pharmacists, technicians, and facilities), and discipline."

"The Drug Listing Act of 1972 requires registered drug establishments to provide the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) with a current list of all drugs manufactured, prepared, propagated, compounded, or processed by it for commercial distribution."

At bottom of page, in the Search area, select Grey Literature and enter search terms.

"Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations."

Part of the Virtual Health Sciences Library at the World Health Organization, LILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes citations for published journals and grey literature.

"On an array of topics, RWJF supports research and programs that are helping to increase the knowledge landscape, and demonstrate what it takes to build a Culture of Health. " Click on broad topic, then click on Research & Analysis. Select title of research, then read article. Some articles require purchase or subscription.

Evidence-based practice database which includes guidelines. Free registration optional.