LibGuides: Kinesiology & Health : Article Databases

Getting Full Text

When you search any of the library's databases or use the QuickSearch box you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:

Click the "Find It@UW" button . If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear.
If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button

Key Journals in Kinesiology

The American Journal of Sports Medicine
An invaluable resource for the orthopaedic sports medicine community, The American Journal of Sports Medicine is a peer-reviewed scientific journal, first published in 1972. It is the official publication of the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine (AOSSM)! The journal acts as an important forum for independent orthopaedic sports medicine research and education, allowing clinical practitioners the ability to make decisions based on sound scientific information.
Journal of Athletic Training
The mission of the Journal of Athletic Training (JAT) is to advance the science and clinical practice of athletic training and sports medicine. Athletic training is a health care profession that encompasses the prevention, examination, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of emergent, acute, and chronic injuries, illnesses, and pathologies in athletes and other physically active individuals.
Journal of Sport & Exercise Psychology
The Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology (JSEP) exclusively specializes in providing the foremost coverage of sport and exercise psychology research.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service! Interlibrary Loan link.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

Databases

Kinesiology Resources and Databases

SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Sport and physical education indexing database that covers books (since 1949) and journal articles (since 1975). On the EBSCOhost platform. Simultaneous user limit of 8.
Sports Medicine & Education Index This link opens in a new window
Physical education indexing database that covers journal and magazine articles back to 1970. On the ProQuest platform.
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine Collection includes hundreds of thousands of articles updated daily from nearly 100 titles covering the fields of physical therapy and sports medicine. Users will discover proven treatment techniques, examine experimental research theses, find unique applications for specific sports (everything from baseball and bowling to tennis and yachting) and more.

Kinesiology Videos

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video This link opens in a new window
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video covers the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world’s leading producer of sports medicine videos, the collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dietitians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine.
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
Database of 3D videos on all parts of human anatomy. Includes Perceptive Adaptive Learning Modules that tailor learning to the individual, using past and current performance to optimize the spacing and sequencing of learning events. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Medicine and Health Science Focused Resources

CINAHL Complete [Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature] This link opens in a new window
Major nursing indexing/full-text database that covers journal articles back to 1981. On the EBSCOhost platform.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical indexing/full-text database that provides public access to MEDLINE (see separately) and full-text on PubMed Central and other publisher websites. On the NCBI platform.