Skip to main content

University of Wyoming Libraries Research Launchpad

Skip to main content

Gender and Women's Studies: Government Information

This guide is intended to assist those researching Gender and Women's Studies-related topics.

Government Information

Gender and Women's Studies: Government Information

Age and Sex (U.S. Census Bureau)
Site has links to statistical information on women from the census, American Community Survey, Current Population Survey, Population Estimates and Projections, statistical and international briefs, and other surveys.

National Women's Business Council
The NWBC serves as an advisory body to the federal government on economic issues of importance to women business owners. The site features information on women-owned businesses, entrepreneurship, business financing, mentoring, and markets.

Office of Women's Business Ownership (U.S. Small Business Administration)
Website provides information on starting, running, financing and growing a business.

Office on Violence Against Women (U.S. Department of Justice)
VAWO handles the Department of Justice's legal and policy issues in the area of violence against women and works with other agencies to implement the Violence Against Women Act and subsequent legislation.

Report of the Women's Rights Convention Held at Seneca Falls, N.Y., July 19th and 20th, 1848 (U.S. National Park Service)
Text of the original document.

Sex Discrimination (U.S. Department of Education)
Page has links to law and regulation (Title IX), questions and answers on sex discrimination, sexual harassment resources, and athletic equity resources.

Social Security Information for Women (U.S. Social Security Administration)
Website links information about retirement, social security, disability, supplemental security income, and Medicare.

Votes for Women: Selections From the National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection, 1848-1921 (U.S. Library of Congress)
"The NAWSA Collection consists of 167 books, pamphlets and other artifacts documenting the suffrage campaign."

Women in America: Indicators

Women (U.S. National Archives and Records Service)
Website links to articles, bibliographies, and digital collections of images and text on Women, African American women, womens history and literature, primary documents, suffrage, women in the military, and other topics.

Women, Infants and Children (U.S. Food & Nutrition Service)
USDA program provides federal grants to states for supplemental food, health care referrals and other services for low income and at risk women and children.

Women's Bureau (U.S. Department of Labor)
The Women's Bureau promotes employment opportunities, development of skills and equitable employment standards, policies and programs. Resources include online publications and statistics.

Women's Health (U.S. Centers for Disease Control & Prevention)
Website has information on women's health. Topical links lead to online publications, programs and services or other resources.

Women's Health Initiative (U.S. National Institutes of Health)
The NIH funded WHI is one of the largest preventative studies in the U.S. WHI focuses on major causes of death, disability and frailty in post menopausal women.

Womenshealth.gov (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services)
Gateway site to information on women's health resources. Includes women's health statistics, health related publications, online medical dictionaries and journals and other topics.

Workforce: Women (U.S. National Science Foundation)
Site includes Characteristics of Recent College Graduates, Women, Minorities, and Persons With Disabilities in Science & Engineering, and related publications and data.