Decennial Census of Population & Housing
Agriculture
Economic
Governments
Housing
Statistical Publications & Databases
Surveys
About the Census
Decennial Census of Population & Housing
Census Bureau page provides links to 2010 Census data, briefs and reports, and state population and profile maps.
2000 Census (U.S. Census Bureau)
Census Bureau page provides links to 2000 Census data, brief and special reports, geographic products, publications, and historical data.
Paper copies available in Reference at:
C 3.223/5: to C 3.223/23:
2000 Census Briefs (U.S. Census Bureau)
These are short reports on findings from the 2000 Census, demographic surveys and the 1997 Economic Census.
1990 Census (U.S. Census Bureau)
Site includes 1990 Census data for all geographic levels and differences between 1990 and 2000 questionnaires.
Paper copies available in the Coe Library basement at:
C 3.223/5: to C 3.223/23:
1790-2010 (U.S. Census Bureau)
Paper copies available in the Coe Library Annex at:
C 3.223/9: to C 3.223/11: (1960-1980)
C 3.950/7-5: to C 3.950/7-6: (1950)
C 3.940-5: (1940)
C 3.37/5: to C 3.37/7: (1930)
C 3.28/5 to C 3.28/7: (1920)
C 3.16: (1910)
I 2.5: to I 13.5: (1790-1900)
American Factfinder (U.S. Census Bureau)
Find, view and download tables, maps, and reports based on census and survey data.
Census Schedules (U.S. Census Bureau)
Schedules are the original questionnaires. They are released 72 years after the original survey. Complete copies (2,667 rolls) of the 1930 census schedules are available at the National Archives and Records Administration Regional Archive in Denver.
Coe Library Annex has microfilm copies for Wyoming from 1900 to 1930 at Coe Microfilm HA 721.5 1900-1930 and Nebraska (Dakota Territory) for 1860 at Coe Microfilm F 663 .P662 1860a
Historical Census Browser (University of Virginia)
Page allows you to generate data from 1790-1960 censuses.
Selected Historical Decennial Census Population and Housing Counts (U.S. Census Bureau)
Site contains links to .pdf files for the 1790 to 1860, 1990, and 2000 censuses, questionnaires and instructions from 1790 to 2000, and statistical abstracts from Colonial Times to 1970.
Wyoming Data (Wyoming Department of Administration & Information)
Wyoming data from the 1970-2000 Census of Population and Housing, historical counts of population (1870-), housing units (1940-) and other selected characteristics.
Agriculture
2007-1840 Census of Agriculture or Agricultural Volume of Decennial Census (U.S. Department of Agriculture)
The census of agriculture originated as part of the 1820 decennial census, when U.S. marshals began to ask about agricultural pursuits. In 1840, marshals began using separate census schedules to collect data related to agriculture. The census of agriculture continued to be conducted during the same year as the decennial census of population until 1950. Between 1954 and 1974, the Census Bureau conducted the census of agriculture in years ending in "4" and "9." Following the census of agriculture in 1978, the Census Bureau and the U.S. Department of Agriculture decided to conduct this census in years ending in "2" and "7."
Paper copies available in the Coe Library Annex at:
C 3.31/4: (1940-1987)
C 3.31/1: (1935)
C 3.37/5:Ag 8 (1930)
C 3.31/1: (1925)
1920-1840 (Part of the decennial census of population)
Economic
2007-1977 Economic Census (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Economic Census covers manufacturing, mining, retail and wholesale trade, construction and other sectors of the economy. The most detailed data are available at the national level, but some statistics are provided at the state, metropolitan area, county, place and zip code level. Click on the "Historical Data" tab for data before 2002.
1987-1948 Economic Census
Paper copies available in the Coe Library Annex under the following titles:
Census of Business
C 3.205/5: (1940-1967)
Census of Construction Industries
C 3.245/3: to C 3.245/7: (1967, 1977-1987)
C 56.246/6: (1972)
Census of Manufactures
C 3.24: (1947-1967, 1977-1987)
C 56.244: (1972)
Census of Mineral Industries
C 3.216/5: (1954-1967; 1977)
C 56.236/6: (1972)
C 3.216: (1982-1987)
Census of Retail Trade
C 3.255/2 to C 3.255/7: (1977-1987)
C 56.251/6: (1972)
Census of Service Industries
C 3.257/2: to C 3.257/4: (1977-1987)
C 56.253/5: (1972)
Census of Transportation
C 3.233/5: (1982-1987)
C 56.246/3: (1972)
C 3.233/3: (1963-1967)
Governments
2007-1992 Census of Governments (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Census of Governments covers all state and local governments. It includes counties, cities, townships, special districts and school districts and presents data on government organization, finances and employment. Look for the links on the left sidebar.
Paper copies available in the Coe Library Annex at:
C 3.145/4: (1957-1987)
Housing
2000 Census of Housing (U.S. Census Bureau)
The Census of Housing covers housing characteristics such as plumbing, heating equipment, fuels, rent, value and others at state, metropolitan area, city, town and tract geographic areas.
1990 Census of Housing (U.S. Census Bureau)
Paper copies available in the Coe Library Annex at:
C 3.224/3: (1990)
C 3.224/3: to C 3.224/10: (1970-1980)
1940-2000 Housing Characteristics in the U.S. (U.S. Census Bureau)
Website has selected data from 1940-2000 Census of Housing.
Statistical Publications & Databases
County and City Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
Online version of this publication presents population and housing data for all U.S. counties, cities with 25,000 inhabitants or more, and places with 2,500 inhabitants or more.
International Data Base (U.S. Census Bureau)
Census Bureau site has statistical tables and socioeconomic data for 228 countries and areas of the world.
State and County Quickfacts (U.S. Census Bureau)
QuickFacts presents tables that show frequently requested data on population, business activity and geography at national, state and county levels.
State and Metropolitan Area Data Book (U.S. Census Bureau)
"Information in the State and Metropolitan Area Data Book covers the following topical areas: age, agriculture, births, business establishments, communications, construction, cost of living, crime, deaths, education, elections, employment, energy, finance, government, health, households, housing, immigration, income, manufactures, marriages and divorces, media, natural resources, population, poverty, race and Hispanic origin, residence, retail sales, science and engineering, social services, tourism, transportation, and veterans."
Statistical Abstract of the United States (U.S. Census Bureau)
Published since 1878, this work is a summary of statistics from a variety of government and private sources. Over 1,400 tables are included and they cover social, political, economic, and other topics. Tables are footnoted to show the source of more information. The U.S. Census Bureau is terminating the collection of data for the Statistical Abstract effective October 1, 2011.
USA Counties (U.S. Census Bureau)
Site provides access to over 6,000 data items for the U.S., states, counties and equivalent areas. Information is taken from a variety of census products and from other federal agency sources.
Surveys
American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
ACS provides annual estimates of demographic, housing, social, and economic characteristics for states, cities, counties, metropolitan areas and population groups of 65,000 or more.
American Housing Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
Survey includes "apartments, single-family homes, mobile homes, vacant housing units, household characteristics, income, housing and neighborhood quality, housing costs, equipment and fuels, size of housing unit, and recent movers."
Annual Survey of Manufactures (U.S. Census Bureau)
ASM gives sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more employees.
Current Population Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
Monthly survey of 50,000 households covers employment, earnings, hours of work and other labor force characteristics.
Current Population Survey Supplements (U.S. Census Bureau)
Supplemental questions added to the CPS cover voting, educational enrollment, child support, and other in-depth information.
Economic Surveys (U.S. Census Bureau)
Economic surveys cover the economy and the construction, governments, trade, mining, manufacturing, retail, services and wholesale sectors.
Housing Vacancy Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
"Current information on the rental and homeowner vacancy rates, and characteristics of units available for occupancy for the U.S., regions, states, and for the 75 largest Metropolitan Areas."
National Survey of Fishing, Hunting, and Wildlife-Associated Recreation (U.S. Census Bureau)
"Data include state in which these activities occurred; number of trips taken; duration of trips; and expenditures for food, lodging, transportation, and equipment."
Survey of Business Owners (U.S. Census Bureau)
The SBO gives ownership statistics by gender, race, and Hispanic origin at national, state, and regional levels.
Survey of Income and Program Participation (U.S. Census Bureau)
SIPP provides information on cash and non-cash income, taxes, liabilities, and participation in government assistance programs.
About the Census
Glossary (U.S. Census Bureau)
Site has Census Bureau definitions, explanations of terms, abbreviations, and acronyms.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses From 1790 to 2000 (U.S. Census Bureau)
Site has links to the 1790 to 2000 questionnaires and instructions.
RSS Feeds (U.S. Census Bureau)
Subscribe to census news releases or over 30 subject oriented census news feeds.
Understanding Census Bureau Geography (U.S. Census Bureau)
"References resources for understanding Census Bureau geography."
U.S. Census Bureau
The Census Bureau Website has a useful A to Z subject index (upper right corner) that also covers programs, surveys and specific publications.