Create Alerts for Journals

Most academic journals now provide RSS Feeds which will send you tables of contents for new issues, or other alerts involving things like most popular articles, or most cited articles. The exact options will differ depending on the journal. You can use the library's Online Journals and Databases tool to locate a particular title, and receive up-to-date contents for the journal. Again, look for either the orange RSS icon, or for links for "Alerts" or "Alerting Services."

This link is to the article on the EBSCO Help website about setting alerts for specific journals.

This link is to the help article on how to set up an RSS feed to receive alerts about a specific journal or other publication provided on the ProQuest platform.

ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier)

ScienceDirect is a multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides full-text of library-licensed journals from Elsevier and related publishers. Alerts from this database are sent by email only (no RSS feed).

This link is to the help page on the ScienceDirect website that describes how to set up alerts for searches, topic searches, and journals/book series.

Sage Journals

This database is a multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides full-text of library-licensed journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. An account must be created to use the alert service. Accounts are free for UW students, faculty, and staff.

To add a journal listed in the Sage Journals database, click on the "Add Alerts" button on the browse page or a journal page. This link is to the "My Alerts" page, which allows users to manage alerts.