Create Alerts for Databases

Setting up alerts and RSS Feeds requires establishing an individual ProQuest "My Research" account. Access to this type of account is limited to UW students, faculty, and staff. This link describes how to set up an account.

The following links are to the ProQuest Support Center and the specific page for:

Setting up RSS Feeds in ProQuest.

How to set up an RSS feed  based on specific search criteria.

PubMed

This health and medicine database provided by the federal government allows alerts to be set-up to receive updates when new information is published. Using this alert option requires establishing a free NCBI account.

This link is to the help page that describes how to set up a search alert.

ScienceDirect Journals (Elsevier)

ScienceDirect is a multidisciplinary eJournal platform that provides full-text of library-licensed journals from Elsevier and related publishers. Alerts from this database are sent by email only (no RSS feed).

This link is to the help page on the ScienceDirect website that describes how to set up alerts for searches, topic searches, and journals/book series.

Setting up RSS feeds in EBSCO databases requires setting up an individual "My EBSCOhost" account. Access to this type of account is limited to UW students, faculty, and staff. This link describes how to set up an account.

The following links are to the EBSCO Support Center and the specific pages for:

Setting up EBSCO article and journal alerts that are received in an RSS newsreader.

Setting up search alerts that are sent to an email address.

Grants.gov

This link is to the help page describing how to set up RSS feeds to receive information about government grants.

USDA

This webpage from the US Department of Agriculture provides information on setting up RSS feeds to obtain information from the USDA.

Other Federal Bodies, Agencies, & Organizations

This link will run a Google Search and provide a list of federal government websites where RSS feeds can be set-up.

Setting up alerts and saving searches in Web of Science requires setting up an individual account. Access to this type of account is limited to UW students, faculty, and staff. To set up an account:

• Click on the "Sign In" button located in the upper-right corner.
• Click on the "Register" link.
• Enter your UW email address in both boxes (do not use commercial accounts). Click "Continue."
• Follow the directions to verify your email. Copy and paste the code received in your email folder.
• Complete registration process.

This link is to the help page in Web of Science that provides instructions on setting up a "Search History as an Alert."

In addition to saving searches and receiving search alerts, Web of Science has the option of sending "citation alerts" whenever a specific citation is used in a publication. This type of alert is useful for researchers tracking the impact of their own research or the research of others. The instructions are provided below and at this link.

Create Citation Alert

To set up your alert settings, you must be a registered Web of Science user and you must sign in to Web of Science.

• Click the Create Citation Alert button.
• Select an e-mail format: Plain Text, HTML, EndNote, or Field Tagged.
• Click the Create Citation Alert button.
• Click Close to complete the process.

Go to Saved Searches & Alerts (located in the My Tools menu) to see the expiration date of the alert. You may renew the alert at any time. An e-mail is sent approximately two weeks before the alert expires to remind you to renew the alert.