American Heritage Center, History Day Resources: Additional Online Resources

Resources on the Web

• National History Day Web site

American Heritage Center, serves as the University of Wyoming's repository of manuscript collections, rare books, and the UW Archives. Their collections include the raw data of humanistic and interdisciplinary research. It is a laboratory for citizens and scholars to engage with primary sources in all formats that support the creation of historical narratives, interrogate the past, build community, and pose and answer questions about the human experience.

• Wyoming History Day, http://www.uwyo.edu/ahc/historyday/
• Digital Collections http://digitalcollections.uwyo.edu:8180/luna/servlet
• WY Boom and Bust Oral History Project (A Project of the Alan K. Simpson Institute for Western Politics and Leadership), http://www.uwyo.edu/ahc/sites/energyboom/index.htm

WyoHistory.org (Wyoming’s Online Encyclopedia) http://www.wyohistory.org/

• Mission: The mission of WyoHistory.org is to encourage exploration of Wyoming and its past by building and maintaining a permanent, interactive encyclopedia of Wyoming history as an ongoing project of the Wyoming State Historical Society. It went live in May 2011.
• A collection of Oral Histories may be found at http://www.wyohistory.org/oral-histories

Wyoming State Archives http://wyoarchives.state.wy.us/

• The Archives’ Historical Photograph Collection includes more than 500,000 images of Wyoming and the Rocky Mountain region. Topics include cowboys, ranches, buildings, scenic views, studio portraits, local communities, historic events, aerial photographs, and much more.  http://spcrphotocollection.wyo.gov/luna/servlet/SPCRACV~3~3

Library of Congress https://www.loc.gov/

• The Library of Congress provides citizens, teachers and students with over 34 million digitized and free primary source documents and tools to enhance teaching, learning and research.
• World Digital Library, over 15,000 items https://www.wdl.org/en/
• StoryCorps, https://storycorps.org/
• Veteran's History Project, https://www.loc.gov/vets/
• Chronicling America, includes over 11.5 million pages of content http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/
• Watch the U.S. Congress in action. Read legislation. Write your representatives. https://www.congress.gov/

National Archives and DocsTeach https://www.docsteach.org/

• National Archives Catalog (General and Advanced Search) https://www.archives.gov/research/catalog
• Digitized Primary Sources connected to the 2017 NHD theme, "Taking a Stand in History"https://www.docsteach.org/topics/nhd 

The Wyoming Newspaper Project http://newspapers.wyo.gov/

• Making Wyoming’s historic newspapers available to the world for education and historical research, including genealogy, is the cornerstone of Wyoming Newspapers. Wyoming Newspapers currently includes over 340 historic Wyoming newspapers and more than 800,000 pages, the earliest is the Chugg Water Journal from 1849.

Buffalo Bill Center of the West https://centerofthewest.org/

• Browse the Digital Collection https://centerofthewest.org/research/mccracken-research-library/digital-collections/
• McCracken Research Library. The Archon database of the McCracken Research Library displays a complete list of the Library’s manuscript collections. https://centerofthewest.org/research/mccracken-research-library/archon/

 Wyoming Department of State Parks and Cultural Resources http://wyospcr.state.wy.us/

• Online Digital Collection http://wyoshpo.state.wy.us/westerntrails/index.html  
• Wyoming Stories (Oral Histories) http://wyospcr.state.wy.us/Multimedia/Index.aspx

Wyoming Public Media http://wyomingpublicmedia.org/

• WPM Mission Statement: Wyoming Public Media connects Wyoming through news and cultural programming that informs, inspires, and educates.
• Tribal News from Wind River Indian Reservation http://wyomingpublicmedia.org/programs/tribal-news
• The Modern West Podcast http://wyomingpublicmedia.org/programs/modern-west
• One minute audio snapshots of Wyoming http://wyomingpublicmedia.org/programs/wyoming-minute
• Wyoming Stories captures history through the memories of those who live here http://wyomingpublicmedia.org/programs/wyoming-stories