LibGuides: US Military Veterans: How to Find Articles

Searching Multidisciplinary Databases

The following are three general databases. Academic Search Premiere and ProQuest Central are useful for any academic subject. Web of Science is useful for academic subject areas in and outside of the sciences. These databases are a good place to start to locate general information. If you have a clearly defined research topic, then try using one of the more specific databases.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.
Web of Science (all databases on platform) This link opens in a new window
Database platform from that combines citation and traditional indexing databases, covering the sciences, social sciences, and arts & humanities.

Library Search/Retrieval Options

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.

Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.

Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!

Locate an Article by its Title

One way to locate an journal or periodical article is to do a search for the title in the QuickSearch box on the UW libraries' home page. Place the article title in double quotation marks to search as an exact phrase (to reduce the number of false hits in the results list). You may only need to search on the first few words if the title appears to be fairly unique. Omit any subtitles (i.e., words following a colon) as those words do not always get indexed as part of the title in the article record (i.e., in the metadata).

UW Libraries home page

Example:

If you are unable to locate the article using this approach, try searching for the journal title and/or article using the eJournal search method. If it appears that the UW Libraries' collection does not include the desired article/journal, an InterLibrary Loan request can be submitted.

Search QuickSearch Scopes

UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center. Searches almost everything.

Use this QuickSearch link to search Books, E-Books & Media.

Lastly, use this QuickSearch link to search Course Reserves.