Getting Full Text
When you search any of the library's databases or use the QuickSearch box you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:
- Click the "Find It@UW" button
. If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear. - If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button
. If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear.Primary & Secondary Sources
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
A primary source is the original object or document. Primary sources include first-hand reports and original creations (diaries, interviews, art) as well as experimental results (from clinical trials, experiments, scientific discoveries).
A secondary source reports on or analyzes a primary source. Secondary sources include reviews and interpretations of primary sources.
Introductory Databases for Articles from a General or Metacommentary Perspective
For getting started with AECL-related research, these sources are great places to start. General databases like ProQuest Central and Academic Search Premier are excellent for searching across general, interdisciplinary publications. Other sources such as Global Issues and CQ Researcher provide critical analysis on contemporary and/or controversial issues.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) This link opens in a new window
Collection of digitized primary source material, government documents, publications, and videos covering issues, topics, and events from the late 1890s to the present including border and migration, atrocities and human rights violations, peacekeeping, climate change, terrorism, revolutions, and human trafficking. Specific events explored include the U.S. and Mexico Border, the Rwandan Genocide, the Arab Spring, the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, and climate migrants in the Asia-Pacific region. On the Alexander Street platform.
- CQ Researcher plus Archive This link opens in a new window
Current events full-text magazine that provides overview articles on "hot topics" back to 1991. On the CQPress platform.
Popular vs. Scholarly Articles - What's the difference?
Scholarly articles are usually lengthy and written in scholarly language by scholars and researchers. These articles are often peer-reviewed, which means that the information in the article was checked for accuracy and importance by a team of experts in the field before publication.
Scholarly articles often report on research. Research articles can be identified by their standard format, containing sections titled Methods, Results, Conclusions, and Bibliography.
Be aware that scholarly journals sometimes contain non-scholarly content, such as book reviews or editorial opinions. While these articles can be useful they do not qualify as "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed".
Popular articles are the articles in magazines that you encounter in the grocery store or the dentist's office. The articles are written by journalists to inform and entertain, and frequently give short, easy-to-read overviews of the research articles published in scholarly journals.
Trade journal articles is a third type of journal article you might encounter. These articles contain practical advice and information for workers within a specific occupation. For example, a professional pharmacist might read the trade journal Pharmacy Times to find out about new advances in child-proof lids, but she will turn to scholarly research articles to learn how a new drug performed in clinical trials.