Getting Full Text
When you search any of the library's databases or use the QuickSearch box you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:
- Click the "Find It@UW" button
. If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear. - If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button
. If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear.Databases for Articles from Agricultural (including Food and Economic) Perspectives
These databases are good places to start for articles about world food topics and world agricultural issues, largely from an apolitical perspective. Econlit is a must if you're looking for economic impact pertaining to a topic, while Food Studies Online is a great place for multimedia content related to food topics.
- AGRICOLA (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Major agricultural indexing database that is based on the National Agriculture Library collection and includes journal articles, book chapters, books, theses, patents, software, media and technical reports back to 1970. On the ProQuest platform.
- CAB Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Agricultural indexing database that covers journals, annual reports, books, conference papers and theses back to 1973. On the EBSCOhost platform. Simultaneous user limit of 4.
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
Major economics indexing/full-text database that covers journals, books, book reviews and theses back to 1969. On the ProQuest platform.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
Environmental indexing database that covers journals, conference papers, reports, books and government documents back to 1960. On the ProQuest platform.
- Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
Food Studies Online provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, but its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
- AgRISA creation of FAO under the United Nations, AGRIS provides access to citations and abstracts dealing with agricultural science and technology worldwide. Topics covered include forestry, animal husbandry, aquatic science and fisheries, and human nutrition.