LibGuides: Landman Resources: Home

Treatises

These treatises are all located in the Law Library. Note that some are on reserve at the Circulation Desk. Click on the title to get more information about an item.

American Law of Mining by Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation
Call Number: KF1819 .R64 1984-
Landman Lease and Title Manual by John R. Childers; Joe W. Judd
Call Number: Reserve KFT1458.L4 J83 2012
Landman’s Legal Handbook
Call Number: Reserve KF1865 .L36 2013
Law of Oil and Gas with Forms by W. L. Summers
Call Number: KF1849 .S8 2004-
Negotiating Oil and Gas Agreements in Wyoming
Call Number: Reserve KFW4459.L4 C34 2015
OIl and Gas Law by Williams & Meyers
Call Number: KF1849 .W54 1959-
What is a Landman? Responsibilities and Basic Terminology
Call Number: Reserve KF1849.A7 M87 2013
Oil and Gas Agreements: Contracting for Goods, Services, and People by Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation
Call Number: KF1849.A2 O35 2013
Severed Minerals, Rights of Access, and Surface Use in Mineral Extraction Operations by Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation
Call Number: KF 1819 .A2 S484 2005
ISBN: 1882047141
Law of Oil and Gas Leases by Earl A. Brown
Call Number: KF1865 .B72 1973-
Regulation of the Gas Industry by American Gas Association
Call Number: KF1870 .R44 1981-
A Treatise on the Law of Oil and Gas, Including Forms, Statutes, and Regulations by Eugene O. Kuntz
Call Number: KF1849 .K963 1987-
Commercial agreements: A Lawyer's Guide to Drafting and Negotiating by Peter Siviglia
Call Number: KF 889 .S45 1997-2003

Subscription Databases

Institute for Energy Law – Digital Library
The Institute for Energy Law maintains substantive conference papers and other items in its fully searchable digital library. The library includes most of the substantive papers produced at IEL conferences, with historic and recent papers being continually added. This database is accessible within the law library for all users and available off-campus for law students, faculty, and staff.
Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation Digital Library
This resource provides full text access to materials published by the Rocky Mountain Mineral Law Foundation since 1955. Content includes more than 2,000 articles and 176 books dealing with all aspects of natural resources law. This full-text database is accessible from any University of Wyoming computer and is available off-campus with UWYO username and password.
Oil, Gas & Energy Law
The OGEL Journal is an international journal focusing on recent developments in the area of oil-gas-energy law, regulations, treaties, judicial and arbitral cases, voluntary guidelines, tax and contracting, and oil-gas-energy geopolitics. Access is limited to University of Wyoming computers; off-campus access is not available.

How to get Research Assistance

Contact a law librarian:

http://www.uwyo.edu/lawlib/askus/

Library Hours:

http://www.uwyo.edu/lawlib/libraryinfo/

Study Aids

These titles are all available on reserve at the Law Library Circulation Desk.

Energy Law in a Nutshell by Joseph P. Tomain; Richard D. Cudahy This title addresses the component parts of the energy fuel cycle, as well as the market and government policies that oversee it. This Nutshell describe in detail the country's traditional energy policy and also discusses the current challenges that confront it. Chapters cover the individual natural resources used to produce energy and the book concludes with the development of a clean energy policy for the future.
Call Number: Reserve KF2120.Z9 T65 2011
ISBN: 9780314271860
Modern Public Land Law in a Nutshell by Robert L. Glicksman; George C. Coggins This book provides a brief historical overview of public land law in the United States and analyzes the constitutional basis for ownership and regulation of federal lands and natural resources. It covers the statutory basis for determining appropriate uses for federal lands and for assessment of the environmental impacts of activities on those lands. It also analyzes the rules governing planning and management of the water, mineral, timber, range, wildlife, recreation, and preservation resources on federal lands. Finally, it covers important recent public land law developments -- in Congress, in the land management agencies, and in the courts.
Call Number: Reserve KF5605 .G58 2012
ISBN: 0314276556
Oil and Gas Law by John S. Lowe This text provides authoritative coverage of the legal rules that govern the development of privately owned mineral rights in the United States, which often also apply to government-owned resources. It covers topics such as the nature, protection, and conveyance of oil and gas rights, leasing, and taxation. The 6th edition tracks recent developments in the law and expands Appalachian coverage.
Call Number: Reserve KF1850 .L68 2014
ISBN: 0314289585
Property Law for Dummies by Alan R. Romero The easy way to make sense of property law Understanding property law is vital for all aspiring lawyers and legal professionals, and property courses are foundational classes within all law schools. Property Law For Dummies tracks to a typical property law course and introduces you to property law and theory, exploring different types of property interests-particularly "real property." In approachable For Dummies fashion, this book gives you a better understanding of the important property law concepts and aids in the reading and analysis of cases, statutes, and regulations. Tracks to a typical property law course Plain-English explanations make it easier to grasp property law concepts Serves as excellent supplemental reading for anyone preparing for their state's Bar Exam The information in Property Law For Dummies benefits students enrolled in a property law course as well as non-students, landlords, small business owners, and government officials, who want to know more about the ins and outs property law.
Call Number: Reserve KF 5698 .Z9 W74 2006
ISBN: 9781118375396
Land Use in a Nutshell by John R. Nolon; Patricia E. Salkin It reviews the common-law controls that were the underpinnings of modern land use regulations, and private law devices--such as covenants and restrictions--that continue to work together with government regulation to limit the use of private property. The Nutshell clearly explains the legal aspects of land planning and regulation, project review processes, and innovative and flexible regulatory devices. Subdivision and site plan regulation, local environment law, discrimination in zoning, regulatory takings and inverse condemnation, and community development practices are all explored. In addition, the book discusses the law of smart growth, and addresses current trends in land use law including the siting of renewable energy facilities. An appendix of internet-based resources is also provided. Law students will find that this Nutshell covers the key cases in all land use law textbooks, and seasoned practitioners and planners will find the organization and approach to dozens of subject areas beneficial to their understanding of land use law.
Call Number: Reserve KF 5698 .Z9 W74 2006
ISBN: 9780314163714

Industry Links

Wyoming Resources

Wyoming Statutes: Title 30 Mines & Minerals, Chapter 5 Oil & Gas

Wyoming State Geological Survey
Wyoming Office of State Lands & Investments
Links to Subsurface Plat Book, Rights of Way, Oil & Gas Lease Statutes search
Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission