Grey Literature: Free Databases

Eldis aims to share the best in development, policy, practice and research. Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents.

The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organizations in the field of grey literature. From Grey Literature Information Service, Amsterdam, Nederlands.

GreySource provides examples of grey literature to the average net-user and in so doing profiles organizations responsible for its production and/or processing. Only web-based resources that explicitly refer to the term grey literature (or its equivalent in any language) are listed.

OAIster is a union catalog of millions of records representing open access resources that was built by harvesting from open access collections worldwide using the Open Archives Initiative Protocol for Metadata Harvesting (OAI-PMH). Today, OAIster includes more than 30 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,500 contributors. From WorldCat.

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories.

CES Web site offers access to unpublished documents (also referred to as Grey Literature) which may be of interest to evaluators.

"Using data, extensive community experience and a focus on results, CSSP promotes public policies that strengthen families and protect and lift children from poverty"

At bottom of page, in the Search area, select "Grey Literature" tab and enter search terms.

"Kaiser is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Unlike grant-making foundations, Kaiser develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations."

Part of the Virtual Health Sciences Library at the World Health Organization, LILACS is the most important and comprehensive index of scientific and technical literature of Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes citations for published journals and grey literature.

"On an array of topics, RWJF supports research and programs that are helping to increase the knowledge landscape, and demonstrate what it takes to build a Culture of Health." Click on broad topic, then click on Research & Analysis. Select title of research, then read article. Some articles require purchase or subscription.

SafetyLit provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 distinct professional disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm. Among these are agriculture, anthropology, architecture, economics, education, engineering specialties, ergonomics and human factors, health and medicine, law and law enforcement, psychology, social work, sociology, and other fields. Includes journals and non-journal sources.

TRIP incorporates various types of information, such as practice guidelines, systematic reviews, study abstracts and other sources from around the world in this evidence based practice database.

Institute of Education Sciences provides indexing of educational journals and additional materials. Also available in the library databases page under Education.

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. NIOSHTIC-2 is a searchable bibliographic database of occupational safety and health publications, documents, grant reports, and other communication products supported in whole or in part by NIOSH. NIOSHTIC-2 contains 54,198 total citations.

The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains more than 220,000 collection records for criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Virtual Library collection. This includes more than 60,000 online resources and all known Office of Justice Programs works.

Documents in the NTIS Technical Reports collection are the results of federally funded research. They are directly submitted to or collected by NTIS from Federal agencies for permanent accessibility to industry, academia and the public. Before purchasing from NTIS, you may want to check for free access from (1) the issuing organization's website; (2) the U.S. Government Publishing Office's Federal Digital System website http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys; (3) the federal government Internet portal USA.gov; or (4) a web search conducted using a commercial search engine such as http://www.google.com.

Science.gov searches over 45 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.

Centre for Disabilities, University of Leeds. The aim of the Disability Archive UK is to provide disabled people, students and scholars with an interest in this and related fields, access to the writings of those disability activists, writers and allies whose work may no longer be easily accessible in the public domain.

University of New Mexico. Includes both citations for journal articles, books, book chapters and grey literature.

Reports of research conducted by AARP on Public Policy, Surveys & Statistics, and Academic Affairs