Skip to main content

University of Wyoming Libraries Research Launchpad

Skip to main content

Successful Summer Strategies: Research in the Real World: Alternatives to Lexis and Westlaw

Research in the Real World Starts Here. Use this guide to orient yourself to the world and research environment.

BNA and CCH Looseleafs

The library provides access to these looseleaf databases for university users through our databases page.   BNA and CCH include many expertly prepared current awareness services, treatises, and primary sources, which are popular among practitioners.  Coverage spans the full range of legal practice areas, including tax & accounting, labor & employment, intellectual property, banking & securities, employee benefits, health care, privacy & data security, human resources, and environment, health & safety.

Other Database Vendors

logo

Bloomberg Law is a full-service legal and business database with case law, unannotated statutes and regulations, legal and business news, dockets, practice books, and treatises. Law students and faculty are provided passwords.

 

Casemaker database contains state and federal case law, statutes, regulations and other resource materials used daily in the practice of law. Access is free with a Wyoming Bar Association membership.  Students may sign up for their free access using their university email address.

 

 

 

Fastcase is a federal and state case law database.  Unique features include Forecite, which identifies cases likely to be on point that do not include all your search terms, and Interactive Timeline, which shows the chronology of cases in your search results and which cases were cited most frequently. 

 

VersusLaw offers state and federal cases and statutory law in a variety of low cost plans.  It is free for law students and faculty through our library databases page

 

 

Comparison of Alternatives to LexisNexis & Westlaw

Contents

 Database Unannotated
Statutes
Cases
w/o
Headnotes
Unannotated Regulations Citating Feature Other
Bloomberg Law Yes

Yes 

Federal: 1789-present for Supreme and District courts; 1891- for Circuit courts

Yes Yes Dockets, Forms, Practice Books, News, Company Info, Legislation/reg tracking
Casemaker Yes

Yes

Yes Yes Court rules, state attorney general opinions, ethics opinions, bar journals, forms
Fastcase Yes Yes Yes Yes State attorney general opinions, state constitutions

Versuslaw

Yes Federal only, varies by jurisdiction Yes No Tribal courts

 

Searching

 Database Boolean Natural Language Fields Search databases together Saves Searches,
Alert Searches

 

Folders

Bloomberg Law Yes - s/, p/ No Advanced searches Yes

Yes

Yes
Casemaker Yes Yes Advanced searches Yes Yes Yes
Fastcase Yes - w/n Yes Date, cite look-up only Yes Yes No
Versuslaw Yes - w/n Yes 4 fields, see help No No No
  

Thank You