Oxford Reference
The multidisciplinary reference texts in the Oxford Reference database provide excellent background information in a wide-range of fields such as archaeology, art, bilingual dictionaries, classical studies, English, history, law, linguistics, literature, media studies, medicine, music, performing arts, philosophy, quotations, religion, science and technology, and social sciences.
Type your search terms into the box below to locate reference material.
Be aware that there is a maximum simultaneous user limit of 5, so be sure to close the tab when you are finished researching so other can use this resource.
Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticism by
This Encyclopediais the most comprehensive guide yet both to the nature and content of literature, and to literary criticism. In ninety essays by leading international critics and scholars, the volume covers both traditional topics such as literature and history, poetry, drama and the novel, and also newer topics such as the production and reception of literature. Current critical ideas are clearly and provocatively discussed, while the volume's arrangement reflects in a dynamic way the rich diversity of contemporary thinking about literature. Each essay seeks to provide the reader with a clear sense of the full significance of its subject as well as guidance on further reading. An essential work of reference, The Encyclopedia of Literature and Criticismis a stimulating guide to the central preoccupations of contemporary critical thinking about literature. Special Features * Clearly written by scholars and critics of international standing for readers at all levels in many disciplines * In-depth essays covering all aspects, traditional and new, of literary studies past and present * Useful cross-references within the text, with full bibliographical references and suggestions for further reading * Single index of authors, terms, topics
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780203403624Publication Date: 2002
The Encyclopedia of Literary and Cultural Theory by
This is the first comprehensive multi-volume encyclopedia ofliterary and cultural theory. Arranged in three volumes coveringLiterary Theory from 1900 to 1966, Literary Theory from 1966 to thepresent, and Cultural Theory, this encyclopedia provides accessibleentries on the important concepts, theorists and trends inpost-1900 literary and cultural theory. With explanations ofcomplex terms and important theoretical concepts, and summaries ofthe work and ideas of key figures, it is a highly informativereference work for a multi-disciplinary readership Part of the Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia ofLiterature Contains over 300 entries of 1000-7000 words written byan international cast of nearly 300 leading scholars in literaryand cultural theory Provides explanations of complex terms, important theoreticalconcepts, and tools for critical analysis Provides summaries of the work and ideas of key figures such asJacques Derrida, Michel Foucault, Judith Butler, and SlavojZizek, and many more Online version provides students and researchers with 24/7access to authoritative reference and powerful searching,browsing and cross-referencing capabilities Special introductory price available
Call Number: PN81 .E435 2011ISBN: 9781405183123Publication Date: 2011
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory by
The last half of the twentieth century has seen the emergence of literary theory as a new discipline. As with any body of scholarship, various schools of thought exist, and sometimes conflict, within it. I.R. Makaryk has compiled a welcome guide to the field. Accessible and jargon-free, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary Literary Theory provides lucid, concise explanations of myriad approaches to literature that have arisen over the past forty years. Some 170 scholars from around the world have contributed their expertise to this volume. Their work is organized into three parts. In Part I, forty evaluative essays examine the historical and cultural context out of which new schools of and approaches to literature arose. The essays also discuss the uses and limitations of the various schools, and the key issues they address. Part II focuses on individual theorists. It provides a more detailed picture of the network of scholars not always easily pigeonholed into the categories of Part I. This second section analyses the individual achievements, as well as the influence, of specific scholars, and places them in a larger critical context. Part III deals with the vocabulary of literary theory. It identifies significant, complex terms, places them in context, and explains their origins and use. Accessibility is a key feature of the work. By avoiding jargon, providing mini-bibliographies, and cross-referencing throughout, Makaryk has provided an indispensable tool for literary theorists and historians and for all scholars and students of contemporary criticism and culture.
Call Number: PN81 .E43 1993ISBN: 9780802059147Publication Date: 1993
Summaries, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
The Blackwell Guide to Literary Theory by
This student-friendly text introduces students to the history and scope of literary theory, as well as showing them how to perform literary analysis. Designed to be used alongside primary theoretical texts as an introduction to theory or alongside literary texts as a model for performing literary analysis. Presents a series of exemplary readings of particular literary texts such as Jane Eyre, Heart of Darkness, Ulysses, To the Lighthouse and Midnight's Children. Provides a brief history of the rise of literary theory in the twentieth century, in order that students understand the historical contexts for different theories. Presents an alphabetically organized series of entries on key figures and publications, from Adorno to Žižek. Features descriptions of the major movements in literary theory, from critical theory through to postcolonial theory.
Call Number: PN94 .C38 2007ISBN: 0631232729Publication Date: 2007
The Theory Toolbox by
This text involves students in understanding and using the "tools" of critical social and literary theory from the first day of class. It is an ideal first introduction before students encounter more difficult readings from critical and postmodern perspectives. Nealon and Searls Giroux describe key concepts and illuminate each with an engaging inquiry that asks students to consider deeper and deeper questions. Written in students' own idiom, and drawing its examples from the social world, literature, popular culture, and advertising, The Theory Toolbox offers students the language and opportunity to theorize rather than positioning them to respond to theory as a reified history of various schools of thought. Clear and engaging, it avoids facile description, inviting students to struggle with ideas and the world by virtue of the book's relentless challenge to common assumptions and its appeal to common sense. Updated throughout, the second edition of The Theory Toolbox includes a discussion of new media, as well as two new chapters on life and nature.
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9780742570498Publication Date: 2012
A Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by
With new entries and sensitive edits, this fifth edition places J.A. Cuddon's indispensable dictionary firmly in the 21st Century. Written in a clear and highly readable style Comprehensive historical coverage extending from ancient times to the present day Broad intellectual and cultural range Expands on the previous edition to incorporate the most recent literary terminology New material is particularly focused in areas such as gender studies and queer theory, post-colonial theory, post-structuralism, post-modernism, narrative theory, and cultural studies. Existing entries have been edited to ensure that topics receive balanced treatment
Call Number: onlineISBN: 9781118326015Publication Date: 2012
