LibGuides: Wyoming Resources: Home

Introduction

This is an annotated list of databases produced by Wyoming State organizations listed by database subject, in addition to some select resources provided by UW Libraries.

About Wyoming

Official Wyoming State Website
The official portal for information on Wyoming. Use the search box or the dropdown menus to find information on agencies, services and general information.

Agriculture & Food Sources

Wyoming Pesticide Applicator Search Database
These databases list Wyoming Commercial and Private Applicators, and Pesticide Applicator CEU counts. Currently down, for more information contact agrtshelpdesk@wyo.gov.
Wyoming Hunger Initiative
Wyoming Hunger Initiative works to prevent food insecurity by increasing awareness and support for the work of local anti-hunger organizations statewide through innovative programs that connect like-minded organizations as well as funding support for local solutions.
Wyoming Natural Diversity Database
The Wyoming Natural Diversity Database (WYNDD) offers the most complete data and information for species and vegetation communities of conservation concern in Wyoming.

Business, Finance & Economy

Business Filing Search - Wyoming Secretary of State
Search the corporate database by entity name (status checks, registered agent, registered office, officer and director information, and much more); information is updated in real time.

Community & Social Services

Certified Adoption Agencies and Adoptable Children
Wyoming Department of Family Services list certified Wyoming adoption agencies licensed to practice in Wyoming and Wyoming youth/children who are available for adoption.
Wyoming 2-1-1 Resources
Wyoming 2-1-1 ensures that the health and human services system works by connecting people with the right services instead of the frustrating and time-wasting hit-or-miss connections made by people calling multiple agencies on their own behalf trying to find the right office or program or person.

Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement

Courts

Opinions of the Wyoming Supreme Court
View recent Supreme Court opinions online. Search opinions by party name or date.
Public Docket Search
Search public filings in cases docketed in the Wyoming Supreme Court. View and download court notices, orders, and appellate briefs.

Missing Persons and Offenders

Division of Criminal Investigation Missing Persons
Wyoming law enforcement agencies are working cooperatively on unsolved missing person cases located throughout the State of Wyoming. A brief summary of each missing person case is provided.
Division of Criminal Investigation Cold Cases
Wyoming law enforcement agencies are working cooperatively on unsolved cases located throughout the State of Wyoming. A brief summary of each case and unsolved homicide case is provided.
Wyoming Sex Offender Registry System (WySORS)
In 2007 the Wyoming State Legislature amended the sex offender registry laws, directing DCI to facilitate access to the information on a public internet web site which lists all sex offenders registered in the State, without the need to consider or assess the specific risk of reoffense with respect to any individual prior to inclusion within the registry. This web site is provided on the Internet to facilitate public access to information about persons who have committed sex offenses, enabling you to take appropriate precautions to protect yourself and those in your care from possible harm.

Earth & the Environment

Climate

Wyoming Water and Climate Web Atlas
The Web Atlas allows users to visualize different water and climate resources in specific geographic regions, and then retrieve information about that region.

Conservation

Wyoming Landscape Conservation Initiative
Explore energy potential, development, and critical natural resource distribution in southwestern Wyoming using this collection of interactive maps.

Emergency Preparedness

Wyoming Public Health Response Coordinators
Search for Wyoming Department of Health personnel responsible for the planning, development, implementation and coordination of specific plans and protocols for a public health response to any catastrophic community event within specific Wyoming counties.

Natural Resources & Energy Resources

Oil & Gas Lease Image Search
Information that is supplied by the Wyoming Office of State Lands & Investments.
Hard Rock Minerals Lease Search
Information that is supplied by the Wyoming Office of State Lands & Investments.
Wyoming Water Bibliography
The Wyoming Water Bibliography (WWB) was initiated to provide a comprehensive, computerized, bibliographic storage and retrieval system dealing with the development, management, and use of Wyoming's water resources. At present, the WWB contains 13,000 citations. As new reports are published, they are incorporated into the WWB by the Wyoming Water Resources Center. The WWB is a multidisciplinary system dealing with all aspects of water. Subject areas included are ground and surface water hydrology, water quality, water development, water management, water law, fish and wildlife, energy development, economics, recreation and various other disciplines related to water. Information for the bibliography was obtained from a variety of sources including state and federal agencies, universities, community colleges, city and county offices, public libraries, consulting firms, commercial database searches, and many personal contacts with other individuals involved with Wyoming's water. These sources were most valuable in furnishing information to make the WWB as complete as possible.
Various Databases - Oil & Gas
Search various databases of the Wyoming Oil & Gas Conservation Commission.

Wildlife

Wisdom
The Wyoming Interagency Spatial Database & Online Management (WISDOM) System is a user-friendly tool that will allow any interested individual to discover, consider, and assess Wyoming’s wildlife resources. Produced by the Wyoming Game and Fish Department.

Education

Wyoming Mill Levy Search
Wyoming Department of Education Mill Levy Search by district and year
Wyoming School District Financial Profiles
Search Wyoming Department of Education District Financial Profiles by year and district.
Continued Review of Educational Resources
Search Wyoming Department of Education database for this annual report by the Superintendent of Public Instruction to the Legislature by year and district.

Government Agencies & Elected Officials

Wyoming Boards and Commissions
This database contains a list of statutory requirements and a brief description of purpose for each State of Wyoming board and commission. Also contains a list of all board or commission members.
State Agency Rules Search
The rules contained on this site are the electronic versions as submitted by state agencies.

Government Finances & Contracts

Unclaimed Property

Wyoming Unclaimed Property
Wyoming State Auditor searchable database for unclaimed property in Wyoming.

Taxation

Parcel Viewer
The Wyoming Parcel information is collected and published each June and is derived from County Assessor's GIS data.
Tax District Viewer
Wyoming Tax Districts are a product from the Department of Revenue. Taxing entity information is pulled from the prior year and are compiled by their unique geographic area into the Tax District map.

Wyoming Online Bid System

Wyoming Public Purchase
A&I Purchasing now uses an online bid system for both distribution and receipt. It's called Public Purchase and all vendors must complete the registration process. It can take up to 24 hours for a new account to become active.

Health, Medicine & Safety

Board of Medicine Physician and Physician Assistant License Lookup
Lookup for Physician and Physician Assistants licensed in the State of Wyoming.
Wyoming Department of Health Coronavirus Disease 2019
Review detailed state and county COVID-19 data, which are updated weekly. Totals for prior calendar years are included.
Wyoming Information Sharing Platform (WISP)
This is a compilation of maps, dashboards, and links regarding events and situations affecting the State of Wyoming.

History, People & Culture

Arts & Entertainment

Wyoming Authors Wiki - Wyoming State Library
The Wyoming Authors Wiki is a clearinghouse for information on book authors who've lived in Wyoming or who write about Wyoming. You can search the wiki using the box in the top right corner of every page, or you can browse by author, county or genre.
Wyoming Artist and Venues Search - Wyoming Arts Council
The goal of this Directory is to better represent Wyoming’s creative talent, and to serve as a platform and resource to connect artists and organizations.

Libraries, Library Catalogs, Archives

Wyoming Inventors Database - Wyoming State Library
This database indexes United States patents in which one or more of the inventors were from Wyoming. Each record provides a link to the United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) website.
Wyoming Places - Wyoming State Library
A clearinghouse for information on Wyoming place names. It is a project of the Wyoming State Library and the University of Wyoming Libraries using sources available from the Wyoming State Archives and other research collections.
Wyoming State Publications - Wyoming State Library
This digital library contains publications produced by Wyoming governmental agencies. The bulk of the publications currently available online range from 1998 to present.
Wyoming State Trademarks
This database covers state trademarks issued between 1906-current located at the Wyoming Secretary of State’s Office. New applications and renewals are added monthly. This database will ultimately include the inactive applications and mark images for Wyoming trademarks located at the Wyoming State Archives, back to the first state trademark in 1881.
Microfilm Archives Research and Security System (MARSS) - Wyoming State Archives
MARSS is a database for accessing information about microfilmed records at the Wyoming State Archives. Since the 1950's, the Wyoming State Archives has been microfilming records and receiving records on microfilm. Archives staff have compiled the index information in a Microfilm Database, allowing information about microfilmed records to be available through the Internet. The microfilm collection includes records from state and local government agencies, private collections, and a few federal documents. We have almost all of the Wyoming newspapers on microfilm. Database searches can be conducted using the agency name, county office, or record title or description. Most of the microfilm is available for research, but if the research copy is with the agency of record, you will need to contact that agency regarding access to the film.
Wyoming Governors Database - Wyoming State Archives
This database contains details of all Wyoming governors starting with the first territorial governor in 1869. Each governor has a mini biography as well as a collection list of documents accumulated during their term in office. Use the search features below to select by state or territorial, terms in office, party affiliation, and governors born in Wyoming.
Digital Collections - University of Wyoming American Heritage Center
AHC collections go beyond Wyoming's or the region's borders and support a wide range of research and teaching activities in the humanities, sciences, arts, business, and education.

Newspapers

Wyoming Newspapers - Wyoming State Library
Available through this website are newspapers printed in Wyoming beginning with the 1849 Chugg Water Journal, in an easily searchable format. Browse or search the more than 900,000 newspaper pages converted from microfilm to a digital format. All text is searchable, including news articles, news briefs, obituaries and other items of interest.

Vital Records

No identified online searchable databases on this topic at this time.

Jobs & Unemployment

Wyoming State Jobs
Search job opportunities available with the State of Wyoming.
Wyoming At Work
Wyoming Department of Workforce Services database were workers, job seekers and businesses can find the services they need in one stop and frequently under one roof in easy-to-find locations.

Laws, Legislative Materials, and Legal Issues

Wyoming Legislation Online - Wyoming State Library
This library of legislative materials contains journals, or digests of the journals, from the first territorial legislature that convened in 1869 up to the present. It also contains digitized bills from 1873 to 2000, in addition to bill actions—a record of actions done on each introduced bill—from 1957-2000.
Wyoming Legislator Database - Legislative Service Office
Search the Wyoming Legislator Database to find information about current and former Wyoming legislators.
Orders - Wyoming Public Service Commission
Dockets - Wyoming Public Service Commission
Rules - Wyoming Public Service Commission
From the website, "The Wyoming Public Service Commission regulates the public utilities that provide services to consumers in the state. The three main industries it regulates are electricity, natural gas and telephone. In addition, the PSC also regulates some commercial water utilities and intrastate pipelines. It is the PSC’s responsibility to ensure the public utilities operating in Wyoming provide safe and reliable service to customers at just and reasonable rates."

Licensing

License Types and Fees - Wyoming Game and Fish Department
Search for current Wyoming fishing and hunting license fees by type (species) and resident or nonresident.
Wyoming Insurance Company Search
Wyoming Department of Insurance - Enter agent's name or adjuster's name in the individual agent search box, enter the agency's name in the agency search box or enter the company name in the insurance company search box to obtain information about the entity.

Military & Veterans

Veterans Health Facilities in Wyoming
This page links to all VA Health Facilities in Wyoming.
Veterans Service Officers
Wyoming Military Department encourages Wyoming veterans to meet with one of the Veterans Service Officers listed on this page to learn about federal and state veterans' benefits, health care, VA disability and pension claims.

Recreation, Travel & Tourism

Wyoming Monuments and Markers Search
This database is a product of the Wyoming Monuments and Markers Program; a cooperative effort among the Wyoming Department of State Parks and Cultural Resources, the Wyoming Department of Transportation, Wyoming Office of Tourism, Wyoming Tribes, local governments, and private individuals and organizations.

Science & Technology

Wyoming Board of Professional Geologists License Search
This database provides search option for professional geologists and geologists in training, licensed within the state of Wyoming.
Wyoming Board of Professional Engineers and Professional Land Surveyors
This database provides search options by individual or firm name for those licensed to practice in the state of Wyoming.

Statistics, Data & Mapping/GIS

Wyoming Geospatial Hub
The Wyoming Geospatial Hub is the primary site for the discovery and delivery of publicly accessible geospatial data produced, maintained and shared by various partners in the State.
Interactive Oil and Gas Map of Wyoming
This project represents collaboration with the Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission (WOGCC), the Wyoming State Geological Survey (WSGS), the Wyoming Geological Association (WGA) and the Wyoming Pipeline Authority (WPA). The Wyoming Geographic Information Science Center (WyGISC) at UW designed and developed the Web application.

Transportation

Wyoming Travel Information Map - Wyoming Department of Transportation

Voting & Elections

Campaign Finance Information System - Wyoming Secretary of State
This website contains detailed financial records and related information that candidates, committees, organizations and parties are required by law to disclose.
Polling Place Locator - Wyoming Secretary of State
Search this site to help determine where you should go to cast your vote for the state's Primary and General Elections.

UW Libraries

SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics enables users to quickly create professional quality thematic maps and reports using thousands of U.S. demographic, business, health and marketing variables. SimplyAnalytics contains extensive data including the Census dating back to 1980, American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending from the (CEX), and over 20 million detailed business profiles from D&B. Users also have access to premium data modules from MRI-Simmons providing extensive consumer behavior and brand data, Claritas' PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, ConneXions and P$YCLE segmentation systems, and Financial CLOUT data. Additional premium data provided by Nielsen includes Retail Market Power and Consumer Buying Power. The Community Lifestages dataset is also available, enabling researchers to understand target locations or identify target markets while the CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Statistical reference database that collects data from federal agencies, which means it covers almost all subject areas. On the ProQuest platform.

WyoDigital
WyoDigital is the University of Wyoming Libraries’ home for digitized materials. Our collections include digitized materials from Emmitt D. Chisum Special Collections, libraries’ general collections, and collections from other collaborating partners. Examples include historic maps, books, photographs, audio-visual materials, UWyo yearbooks, manuscripts, ephemera, and more.