Most current analytical philosophical literature is published in scholarly journal articles. You might need to use journal articles in a research paper to support your argument.
Getting full text
When you search any of the library's databases or use the "Quick Search" you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:
Click the "Find It@UW" button
If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article appears
If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the "Request It" button
Core article databases
The databases below contain mostly scholarly journal articles, but may also include book chapters, conference papers, whole books, dissertations, and perhaps other formats. Check with your professor to see what you should use in a paper.
The primary place to search for journal articles and other philosophy scholarship published since 1940; you might not need to use anything else. Covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysical logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open access archive in philosophy.
Covers the humanities broadly; nice for interdisciplinary research. Once you get your list of results you can limit by discipline if needed. You can also perform cited reference searches to see who has cited a particular author or article.