Charles A. Lambard papers, 1855-1908.
2.25 cubic ft. (5 boxes)
Collection 01297
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv797326
Charles A. Lambard (d. 1873) was a Boston, Massachusetts investor in railroads, real estate, mining, and manufacturing companies. He was vice president of the Union Pacific Railroad.
Contains the business papers of Charles A. Lambard and his estate. There is a financial journal (1885-1894), accounts, notes receivable, and stock certificates. There are legal papers related to various investments and settlement of the estate.
E.E. Lonabaugh papers, ca. 1900-ca. 1949.
2.25 cubic ft. (5 boxes)
Collection 00701
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv137910
Ellsworth Eugene Lonabaugh (1861-1938), was an attorney in Sheridan, Wyoming, from 1890-1938. He was admitted to the Territorial Bar in 1887, and practiced in Lusk, Wyoming, prior to settling in Sheridan. From 1915-1938, he practiced in partnership with his sons Harvey E. and Alger W. Lonabaugh. Clients included the Chicago, Burlington, & Quincy Railroad Company, among many others.
Collection consists of case files from Lonabaugh's law practice.
Edward R. McAuslan papers, 1930-1984.
20 cubic ft. (10 boxes and 32 maps tubes)
Collection 09057
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv373146
Edward R. McAuslan (1916-1985), a geologist, worked for the Union Pacific Railroad Company evaluating oil and gas possibilities along its right of way through Wyoming, including Albany and Carbon Counties and the Green River Basin. He was also a consulting geologist.
Collection includes correspondence (1965-1982); graphs, logs, and tables (1930-1971); maps and charts; reports (1955-1980); subject files (1939-1981); and miscellaneous other materials.
William H. Moore papers, 1881-1921.
0.25 cubic ft. (1 box)
Collection 10358
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv564538
William Harley Moore was born on September 12, 1860, in Limerick, Ireland. On completing his education, Moore came to the United States in 1885 and was employed as a draftsman in the Bridge Engineering Department of the New York Central and Hudson River Railroad. In 1896 he joined the New York, New Haven, and Hartford Railroad, working until his death in 1920. He was appointed Bridge Engineer of the New Haven Railroad in 1889 and Engineer of Structures in 1913. Moore died suddenly of heart failure on September 5, 1920, in New Haven, Connecticut.
Contains biographical information published in the January 1921 issue of the "American Society of Civil Engineers", a letter and postcards to his mother in Ireland, four travel journals (1898-1900), and photographs of Moore in 1881, 1889, and 1907. Three travel journals illustrate in vivid detail Moore's trips out west to Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, and Arizona. His descriptions include railway, wagon, and horseback travel, plus descriptions of Yellowstone Park, the Grand Canyon, and the complete eclipse of the sun, May 28, 1900 on the Atlantic coast near Norfolk, Virginia. Moore’s journals also include observations of people he met including Native American (Hopi and Moki) tribes; small mining communities; and larger cities like Denver, Colorado and Santa Fe, New Mexico. Thirty-five sepia-toned photographs show bridges under construction and completed in 1907.
Dick J. Nelson Papers, 1875-1969
.25 cubic feet (1 box)
Collection 00247
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv431777
Dick J. Nelson (b. 1875) homesteaded with his family in Wyoming Territory in 1888. He worked for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad Company from 1895-1939.
The collection contains manuscripts of historical articles and poems.
Robert P. Olmsted papers, 1948-2013.
40.29 cubic ft. (55 boxes)
Collection 12513
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv426907
Robert P. Olmsted (1930- ) was a photographer and author who specialized in railroad scenes. With his wife, Carol, he authored many books featuring railroads throughout the United States. Contains publications, prints, negatives, and slides showing railroad scenes in the United States; photoshoot journals and train timetables. The main geographic areas represented are Wyoming, including the Laramie rail yard, the Chicago area, and Kansas.
Hans Olson Papers, 1883-1913.
.45 cubic ft. (1 box)
Collection 08119
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv700319
Hans Olson (1857-1911) left Norway and went to sea at age fourteen. After seven years as a seaman, he settled in Wyoming Territory where he found work as a fireman and later engineer for the Union Pacific Railroad. He left the Union Pacific at the end of 1894 to become a rancher. His land was located southwest of Laramie, Wyoming, on the Laramie River. Contains notes of ranch operations, 1883-1913 and time books for Olson's railroad work, 1884-1894.
Alfred E. Perlman papers, 1935-1974.
15.30 cubic ft. (23 boxes)
Collection 05747
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv667376
Alfred E. Perlman (1903-1983) was a railroad executive, known for his ability to trouble shoot and rescue failing companies. He began his career in 1923 and worked for the Northern Pacific, Burlington and Quincy, and Denver and Rio Grande railroads. He was also a railroad consultant in Israel in 1950. He was president of the New York Central Railroad, 1954-1968, until it merged with Penn Central; then he was president and chairman of Western Pacific Railroad during the 1970s. He focused on research and modernization of the companies he headed. He was a member of the National Defense Transportation Association and served on the Military Airlift Command in the 1960s among other organizational involvements.
Contains corporate financial records, business files, clippings, and correspondence that document Perlman's career. There are numerous reports covering a wide range of Perlman's activities, from information on the 1935 Republican Valley Flood that impacted the Chicago, Burlington, Quincy Railroad to a 1949 rail transport facilities report on South Korean railways to capital equipment programs for the New York Central in the 1960s.
Harold L. Peterson's Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Engineers, Black Hills Lodge No. 86 (Laramie, Wyo.) records, 1925-1963.
11.00 cubic ft. (12 boxes)
Collection 07932
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv882539
Harold L. Peterson was the secretary of the Brotherhood of Locomotive Firemen and Engineers, Black Hills Lodge No. 86, in Laramie, Wyoming in the 1960s.
The collection contains financial records for the BLFE Black Hills Lodge No. 86, which was affiliated with the BLFE Cheyenne Chapter in Cheyenne, Wyoming, as well as some minutes for local and chapter. There are newspapers that highlight railroad worker issues of the 1960s including work rules disputes, featherbedding, injunctions, and walkouts. Peterson's correspondence on these issues is included. Also included are secondary materials related to the Union Pacific system such as: books, home study pamphlets, printed materials related to railroad maintenance and steam locomotive operation among other topics.
Public Service Commission of the State of Wyoming annual reports, 1919-1979.
3.0 cubic ft. (3 boxes)
Collection 12675
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv587184
The Wyoming Public Service Commission (PSC) was created by the Wyoming Legislature in 1915 to regulate public utilities and services provided to consumers in Wyoming. It was originally joined with the State Board of Equalization until 1968, when it became its own agency within Wyoming state government.
Contains microfilm reels of annual reports sent to the Wyoming Public Service Commission from public utility and service companies that operated in Wyoming from 1919-1979. Includes railroad companies.
Henry W. Putnam papers, 1844-1898.
.90 cubic ft. (2 boxes)
Collection 03301
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv555666
Putnam was a businessman who invested in the Chicago, Peoria, and St. Louis Railroad Company and was also involved in an irrigation project in Escondido, California. Putnam received a patent in 1876 for inventing a machine to make barbed wire.
Contains materials related to Putnam's business interests from 1844-1898. Includes correspondence between Putnam and his business partners and bankers and their investment in the Chicago, Peoria, and St. Louis Railroad between 1889-1898, along with information regarding the condition of the railroad and company lines.
Railroad Picture Postcards collection, 1970-1973.
.10 cubic ft. (1 box)
Collection 03685
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv198167
Collection consists of picture postcards of the construction of the transcontinental railroad by the Union Pacific and Central Pacific Railroads, locomotives, Pullman sleeping cars and various other railroad scenes in the American West from 1866-1870.
Paul H. Reistrup speeches, 1975-1978.
0.90 cubic ft. (2 boxes)
Collection 06437
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv849724
Paul Hansen Reistrup (b. 1933) was an American manager and consultant in the railway industry. He attended the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, where he graduated with a degree in Mechanical Engineering. From 1959 through 1974, he was employed by various American railroad companies. In 1975, Reistrup was appointed President and Chief Executive Officer of Amtrak where he initiated a modernization program for passenger cars. He left Amtrak due to budget cuts and policy agreements in 1978. He then became a transportation consultant and, in 1988, president of Monongahela Railway, a coal-hauling short-line railroad in Appalachia. From 1992 to 1994, he was in executive positions with the Railroad Development Corporation and then with Parsons Brinckerhoff. In 1997, he joined CSX Transportation as Vice President of Passenger Integration. Reistrup resigned from CSX in 2002 and returned to working as a consultant in the railway sector.
Contains addresses and speeches delivered during Paul Reistrup's tenure as President and Chief Executive Officer of Amtrak from 1975 to 1978.
Ernest M. Richardson papers, 1955-1960.
0.90 cubic ft. (2 boxes)
Collection 00278
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv490082
Ernest M. Richardson (d. 1960) was an investment banker and, after retirement, became a historian. He authored a book, "The Battle of Lightning Creek: An Account of the Last Blood-Spilling Conflict Between Indians and Whites in Wyoming," published in 1956.
Contains Wyoming history and contains Richardson's unpublished articles as well as research materials. Historical subjects include the Chicago, Burlington and Quincy Railroad (including Dick J. Nelson, a CBQ conductor and assistant superintendent), among many other topics.
Edmund E. Robinson letters, 1870-1872.
.10 cubic ft. (1 box)
Collection 01104
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv356402
Robinson was a station agent for the Union Pacific Railroad starting in 1870, at Lookout Station in Albany County, Wyoming. Transcripts of seven letters written by Robinson for the Groton (New York) "Journal" describing railroad operations at Lookout Station and in Wyoming, ranching opportunities in Albany and Carbon Counties, Independence Day celebrations in Laramie, Wyoming and the local scenery.
Rocky Mountain Railroad Club collection, 1903-1980.
10.38 cubic ft. (11 boxes)
Collection 12696
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv888155
The Rocky Mountain Railroad Club was founded in 1938 to promote and encourage public interest in railroads and assist with the collection, preservation, and exhibition of railroad history. Contains railroad films, video logs, and a film index on 3x5 cards.
Hilliard S. Ridgley papers, 1902-1922.
1.10 cubic ft. (3 boxes)
Collection 08135
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv871987
Hilliard Samuel Ridgley (also spelled Ridgely) (1864-1937) was a prominent member of the Wyoming State Bar. After practicing law in Nebraska, Ridgley moved to Cody, Wyoming, in the early 1900s where he was William F. Cody's personal representative and attorney for a number of years. Upon the Burlington Northern Railroad building from Frannie, Wyoming, south through the Big Horn Basin, he moved to Basin, the county seat, where he built up a large and lucrative practice. He was appointed U.S. District Attorney (1911-1914) for the district of Wyoming by U.S. President William Howard Taft and moved to Cheyenne to take the position. In 1914, Ridgley was the Republican candidate for Wyoming governor against Democratic nominee, John B. Kendrick. Ridgleywas defeated by a small majority. At the close of the campaign, Ridgley withdrew from active politics and resumed practicing law in Cheyenne.
Consists of legal documents from Big Horn County, Wyoming (1902-1917). Many of the items concern the Shoshone Irrigation Company, the Union Pacific Railroad, the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, Westbridger Mining and Development Company, Winona Gold-Copper Mining and Milling Company, Taylor-Halstead Canal Company, and the town of Cody, Wyoming. Published material includes issues of Wyoming newspapers (1914) from Basin, Cheyenne, Kemmerer, Laramie, Cody and Cheyenne. There are rulebooks for the Basin Literary Club, constitution and bylaws of the Big Horn County Wool Growers Association of Meeteese, the constitution of the Cody Club, and the Collins Land Company of Helena, Montana. Miscellaneous items include "A Chronology of the History and Achievements of the Republican Party" (1908) compliments of Francis E.Warren, "History of the Lost Soldier Oil Field," map of Wyoming, a route chart for Buffalo Bill's Wild West Show (signed by William F. Cody), and speeches by H.S. Ridgley. The collection also contains 20 pieces correspondence and 3 telegrams (1908-1922).
John A. and William A. Riner papers, 1877-1956.
41.1 cubic ft. (62 boxes)
Collection 12529
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv273545
John Alden Riner (1850-1923) was a lawyer in Cheyenne, Wyoming. He opened a private practice in 1879. He was Cheyenne's city attorney from 1881 to 1884 and U.S. attorney for the Wyoming Territory from 1884 to 1886. He was a member of the Territorial Council, Wyoming Territory, in 1886. In 1890, the same year that Wyoming was admitted to the Union as a state, Riner was nominated for and became the first federal judge of the U.S. District Court for the District of Wyoming. He remained a federal judge until his death in 1923.
William Addison Riner was the nephew of John Alden Riner. He moved to Cheyenne in 1902 and served as Cheyenne's city attorney from 1908 to 1911 and as U.S. district attorney for Wyoming from 1911 to 1912. During much of the 1910s, he was in private practice with Timothy Burke, his law partner, and among his clients was the Chicago, Burlington, & Quincy Railroad Company. He was judge of the District Court, First Judicial District, from 1922 to 1928. He was appointed justice of the Wyoming Supreme Court in 1928 and served until his death in 1955. He was chief justice from 1939 to 1942, from 1947 to 1950, and in 1955.
The collection contains professional and personal correspondence, case files, and personal receipts. Included are petitions, bills, deeds, appraisements, and motions, as well as dealings with the Pacific Mutual Insurance Company, the West Publishing Company, the U.S. Department of Labor, the Quincy Railroad Company and the U.S. Eighth Circuit Courts. Also included are minute books for railroad companies, oil and mining companies, livestock companies, and other businesses with which the Riners were associated.
W.H. Shelley letter, 1888-
1 item.
Collection 09989
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv595762
Contains an August 15, 1888, letter to President Grover Cleveland from this York, Pennsylvania School Superintendent while on vacation at Mammoth Hot Springs, Wyoming in Yellowstone National Park regarding the high prices of railroad tickets.
Clare Sikora history of the Little Valley Bulletin newspaper, 1956-2009.
.25 cubic ft. (1 box)
Collection 12714
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv536397
The Little Valley Bulletin was a camp newspaper created in July 1956 by Clare Kamerchak Sikora, a University of Wyoming journalism graduate, and Lois Hummel, a University of Montana journalism graduate. The two housewives thought it would be a good project to create a newspaper for Little Valley, Utah, a Southern Pacific Railroad temporary construction camp. The camp town was created to build a new railroad across the Great Salt Lake. The two women documented the camp town of Little Valley, Utah from 1956-1957 until their husbands were transferred to other towns for new construction projects. Contains a brief history by Clare Sikora and copies of the "Little Valley Bulletin" newspaper from 1956-1957.
Stout family papers, 1877-1979 (bulk 1940-1976).
2.83 cubic ft. (4 boxes)
Collection 08414
Inventory for collection to https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv523158
The Stout Family were longtime residents in the Big Horn Basin in northern Wyoming. Calvin R. Stout Sr. and Ola Norton were married in 1921. They had five children. Their child Bertha Viola "Ola" (Norton) Stout was born in Nebraska in 1894. In the early 1900s the family moved to Garland, Wyoming, where her father was the railroad agent. In about 1917, Ola became a railroad telegrapher for the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad. She retired in 1959. In 1940, Ola and Calvin Stout purchased a ranch west of Cody. Mr. Stout operated the ranch until his death in 1958.
The Stout Family Papers consist of material from the members of the Calvin Sr. and Ola (Norton) Stout Family as well as from members of their extended families especially those of their five children and their families, and of Ola's sisters. The bulk of the collection spans the 1940s to 1976. The majority of the collection relates to Calvin Stout Jr. who served in World War II; the Stout Family Ranch near Cody; and Ola Stout's time as a telegrapher for the Chicago, Burlington, and Quincy Railroad.
Swan Company records, 1877-1984.
192.40 cubic ft. (221 boxes)
Collection 11470
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv917840
In 1883 the Swan Land & Cattle Co. was organized and acquired land near the site of Chugwater, Wyoming. The company owned several ranches throughout the southeast corner of the state of Wyoming and leased land from several other ranches in the area for grazing purposes for the cattle and sheep they raised. In 1926, Swan Land and Cattle Company was liquidated and reorganized into the Swan Company. On November 30, 1950, the Swan Company was liquidated and dissolved.
The collection contains correspondence, ledgers, journals, agreements made with other landowners and the Union Pacific Railroad, leases, tax records, financial information, deeds, wills, diaries, wool count books, church programs and bulletins, work orders, equipment inventories, company store inventories, cash books, photographs, and maps.
Payson W. Spaulding papers, 1886-1980.
98.97 cubic ft. (103 boxes)
Collection 01803
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv702945
Payson W. Spaulding established himself as a notable attorney in Southwest Wyoming, serving the community and state for 70 years. He was council for the Lincoln Highway Association, Union Pacific Railroad Company, and John D. Rockefeller's Snake River Land Company, involving Spaulding in the establishment of the Lincoln Highway and the Jackson Hole National Monument.
Contains legal case files from Payson W. Spaulding's private practice. These files contain correspondence, legal documents, and financial records concerning the case and/or clients; including his work with the Lincoln Highway Association, Union Pacific Railroad, and the Jackson Hole National Monument and involvement of Rockefeller's Snake River Land Company in acquiring land for the monument. The collection also contains his law firm records of correspondence, research and reference publications, and financial records; documentation about transcontinental automobile tours in the early 20th century; personal correspondence, photographs, news clippings, publications, and maps of Wyoming and Utah; and correspondence and legal documents regarding Spaulding's personal interests in oil drilling and mining.
Joseph Elam Stimson photographs, 1900-1950.
1.55 cubic ft. (4 boxes)
Collection 01208
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv360539
Joseph E. Stimson was a Cheyenne, Wyoming, photographer. In 1901 he was hired by the Union Pacific Railroad to publicize the area served by the line. In 1903 he was commissioned by the state government to provide photographs of Wyoming for the Louisiana Purchase Exposition. Stimson created many views of Wyoming and the surrounding states.
Contains more than 500 prints of J.E. Stimson's images of Wyoming and the surrounding region on many subjects including the Union Pacific railroad. Photo negatives are located at the Wyoming State Archives.