William Oliver Gibson railroad collection, 1885-1979.
15 cubic feet (19 boxes)
Collection 07450
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv998785
Collection of railroadiana of this railroad enthusiast including timetables for various U.S. railroads, mostly for the Atchinson, Topeka, and Santa Fe Railway (1902-1979); 58 8 mm films on trains and railroading (1929-1977); photographs, photograph albums and slides of circus trains, steam locomotives and various U.S. railroads (1906-1972); 70 33 1/3 rpm phonograph records of train sounds; railroad maps for Colorado (1913-1963); and miscellaneous railroad decals and telegraph keys.
Howard F. Greene collection, 1747-1981 (bulk 1860-1973).
229.91 cubic ft. (430 boxes)
Collection 02123
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv116296
Howard F. Greene was born in Hill, New Hampshire, in 1903. He served as the chair of the accounting department at Northwestern University. In 1945, he joined the Railway and Locomotive Historical Society and the Railway Enthusiasts organization. He was president of the Enthusiasts from 1963- 1965. He passed away in 1983.
Contains materials related to railroads and railroad history Greene collected throughout his life. A majority of the material is related to railroads in New England and on the East Coast. However, material related to central and western railroads is present as well, as is a small amount of material related to bus and airlines. Records from railroad clubs Greene belonged to are included. The collection includes financial records, artifacts, correspondence, publications, advertisements, maps, blueprints, and prints, among many other materials.
James John Hagerman papers, 1885-1943 (bulk 1885-1894).
.45 cubic ft (1 box)
Collection 03020
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv540012
James John Hagerman, who discovered the Menominee Iron Range in northern Michigan, moved to Colorado Springs, Colorado, in 1884. Hagerman began developing active mining interests in Colorado, which led to his controlling interest in the Colorado Midland Railway Company through 1900.
Contains materials relating to Hagerman's interest in the Colorado Midland Railway Company and the Cripple Creek Strike in 1894. The collection includes correspondence (1885-1949) dealing with the financing, construction and sale of the Colorado Midland Railroad and the Cripple Creek Strike; a written memoir by Hagerman (1908) and one by his son Percy Hagerman (1932); and an address by Percy Hagerman on the Colorado Midland (1943).
Tom Harvey oral history interview, 1991.
.2 cubic ft. (1 envelope)
Collection 09839
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv355736
The Tom Harvey oral history contains an audio cassette and a transcript of Mr. Harvey's family recollections which extend from 1900 to 1990. He worked out of Rawlins, Wyoming on the Union Pacific Railroad. He worked his way up from fireman to engineer on steam locomotives and on diesels. During World War II he was a bombardier on a B-17 aircraft which flew into Germany. He was shot down over Holland several times, and he lost his brother in France.
Earl W. Hayter collection, 1866-1958.
1.3 cubic ft. (2 boxes)
Collection 00276
Inventory for collection https://archiveswest.orbiscascade.org/ark:/80444/xv642786
Earl W. Hayter was a professor at the Northern Illinois State Teachers College (later Northern Illinois University) in De Kalb, Illinois. He studied and wrote about the history of barbed wire fencing, which was first extensively manufactured in the De Kalb area, and about farming and farm machinery. Hayter acquired many documents relating to early inventors and manufacturers of barbed wire and farm machinery.
Contains papers (1878-1903) of Isaac Ellwood, inventor and manufacturer of barbed wire, especially those documents pertaining to contracts to provide barbed wire fencing for various railroad rights of way, and to some of Ellwood's mining interests in Idaho and Mexico (Honest John Mining & Milling Co. and Creston-Colorada Co.); papers (1866-1900) of Charles W. Marsh, inventor and manufacturer of harvesters; advertising and other documents of various wire and agricultural machinery manufacturers.