Getting Full Text
When you search any of the library's databases or use the QuickSearch box you may have to go through a few steps to find the full-text of the articles you need. If you don't see a direct link to the full text of the article, go through the following steps:
- Click the "Find It@UW" button
. If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear. - If no online copy is available, you may order the article by clicking the Interlibrary Loan button
. If a full-text copy is available, a link to the article will appear.Primary & Secondary Sources
Primary vs. Secondary Sources
A primary source is the original object or document. Primary sources include first-hand reports and original creations (diaries, interviews, art) as well as experimental results (from clinical trials, experiments, scientific discoveries).
A secondary source reports on or analyzes a primary source. Secondary sources include reviews and interpretations of primary sources.
Search QuickSearch Scopes
|
Library Search/Retrieval Options
UW Libraries QuickSearch: includes the collections of the University Libraries, UW Law Library, and the American Heritage Center.
Prospector: a unified catalog of twenty-three academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. UW students, faculty and staff can borrow materials from Prospector.
Interlibrary Loan: UW students, faculty and staff can request books, journal volumes, journal articles and other materials, regardless of whether it is available in the UW Libraries, online or in libraries around the world. A free service!
Databases for Child Development
Given the specific subject areas and topics for your Critical Thinking Paper, the following databases will deliver the best results (which will vary based on the topic you choose). Don't see the right one below? Just ask us and we'll help you find the right place to search!
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Database platform that includes 100-some other indexing, full-text and reference databases (listed separately). On the ProQuest platform.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary indexing/full-text database that covers scholarly journal articles back to 1975. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- ERIC [Educational Resources Information Center] (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowMajor education indexing database that covers journals, reports, conference papers, government documents, books, media and theses back to 1966. On the ProQuest platform.
- Education Source This link opens in a new windowDatabase that indexes education literature back to 1929, with full text back to 1996. Adds unique content to merger of Wilson Education Full Text & Retrospective and EBSCO Education Research Complete. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
Major psychology indexing database that covers journals, books, and dissertations back to the 1800s. On the ProQuest platform.
- Family and Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Major family and human development indexing database that covers journals, books, conference papers, theses and government documents back to 1970. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowSocial work indexing database that covers journals, theses and book reviews back to 1979. On the ProQuest platform.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
Medical indexing/full-text database that provides public access to MEDLINE (see separately) and full-text on PubMed Central and other publisher websites. On the NCBI platform.
Popular vs. Scholarly Articles - What's the difference?
Scholarly articles are usually lengthy and written in scholarly language by scholars and researchers. These articles are often peer-reviewed, which means that the information in the article was checked for accuracy and importance by a team of experts in the field before publication.
Scholarly articles often report on research. Research articles can be identified by their standard format, containing sections titled Methods, Results, Conclusions, and Bibliography.
Be aware that scholarly journals sometimes contain non-scholarly content, such as book reviews or editorial opinions. While these articles can be useful they do not qualify as "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed".
Popular articles are the articles in magazines that you encounter in the grocery store or the dentist's office. The articles are written by journalists to inform and entertain, and frequently give short, easy-to-read overviews of the research articles published in scholarly journals.
Trade journal articles is a third type of journal article you might encounter. These articles contain practical advice and information for workers within a specific occupation. For example, a professional pharmacist might read the trade journal Pharmacy Times to find out about new advances in child-proof lids, but she will turn to scholarly research articles to learn how a new drug performed in clinical trials.