Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Broadcast News & Other Media
The following links are to UW Library bibliographic databases that are limited to access by UW students, faculty, and staff. However, some of these links are to public, open-access resources available to any researcher.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Historic image and media database that covers Associated Press photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text back to 1826.
AP [Associated Press} Images Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable, high quality photos from the Associated Press
Associated Press Collections Online This link opens in a new window
An archive of primarily 20th Century news materials
FBIS Daily Reports [Foreign Broadcast Information Service] This link opens in a new window
Intelligence full-text archive that reproduces broadcast transcripts and newspaper articles translated into English for all regions of world. On the Readex platform.
General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database includes more than 8,000 full-text titles, more than 3,600 journals, more than 25 years of backfile, and five newspaper indexes. General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV, and Meet the Press; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s Magazines for Libraries.
Life Photo Archive This link opens in a new window
Historic photo database that provides images, many published in Life, going back to the 1860s. On the Google platform.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
The March of Time From 1935-1967 is a groundbreaking American short-film series now available as online streaming video. Most covered political, economic, and military events or current affairs.
Meet the Press This link opens in a new window
Meet the Press from Alexander Street makes over 1,500 hours of footage—the full surviving broadcast run to date—available online in one cross-searchable interface. Meet the Press specializes in interviews with national leaders on issues of politics, economics, foreign policy, and other public affairs, along with panel discussions that provide opinions and analysis.
Picture Post Historical Archive, 1938-1957 This link opens in a new window
The Picture Post Historical Archive comprises the complete archive, spanning from 1938 to 1957, all digitized from originals in full color. Picture Post’s innovative use of photo-journalism captured the imagination of the British people, with readership at its peak estimated at 80% of the population. In the era before television, it became the window on the world for ordinary people, bringing the major social and political issues of the day into popular consciousness.
Popular Magazines This link opens in a new window
This database is 100% full text and includes over 600 titles recommended by Bowker's "Magazines for Libraries". Titles like Consumer Reports, Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Business Week, National Review, Cosmopolitan, NPR and even Oprah are included.
Smithsonian Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Smithsonian Collections Online contain two magazines: Smithsonian (April 1970 to present), and: Air & Space Smithsonian (April/May 1986 to present). Other collections are: World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow (1834-1940), and: Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry (1820-1926).
World News Connection Archive This link opens in a new window
News archive of newspaper articles, television and radio broadcasts, online sources, conference proceedings, periodicals, and non-classified reports from around the world collected and translated by and for the U.S. Government. Comprehensive summary of world events since 1940. Helpful for seeing trends over time.
World Newsreels Online (1929-1966) This link opens in a new window
World Newsreels Online: 1929–1966 captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News, and The March of Time. Produced from 1929 through the early post-war period, these films provide a unique—and until now largely neglected—resource that will give scholars real insight into how people learned about and lived through the events that occurred during this period of history.