Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Historical Newspapers: ProQuest Historical Newspapers

This guide provides information for accessing historical newspaper that may be in print, microform, or digitized. The date range for historical newspapers is loosely defined as five years ago or longer.

ProQuest Databases

There are two major subsets of ProQuest newspapers.

One is their "Newsstream" databases that are listed by geographical region (e.g., U.S. Newsstream, African Newsstream, etc.). These are generally text-only databases, that is, there are no images or charts. If there are such images or charts available, there is normally a link to view these items. Many of these newspapers have historical issues available. Locate a title through the "Publications" tab on the database. Each newspaper will provide the date range that is available.

The second set of ProQuest newspapers are the "Historical Newspaper" series.  These are more specific groupings of newspapers, such as "American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, 1857-1922" or "Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1984." The description for each newspaper will have a tag of "Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers series."

ProQuest Newsstream Databases

Other ProQuest Newspaper Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Databases

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon