Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

Historical Newspapers: Historical Newspaper Databases

This guide provides information for accessing historical newspaper that may be in print, microform, or digitized. The date range for historical newspapers is loosely defined as five years ago or longer.

Overview of Historical Newspaper Databases

The UW Libraries has access to hundreds of historical newspapers through subscription databases. In general, these databases are only available to current UW students, faculty, and staff. Public patrons may be able to access some of the databases through the public terminals in William Robertson Coe Library.

Some of the databases are exact digital copies of the newspapers; others are text only. Some are searchable by keyword, whereas others must be visually searched. If you are unsure how to use one of the databases, simply ask at the Help Desk or email us at coeref@uwyo.edu. We are happy to help.

Most of the databases have a built-in utility to capture and download a PDF of the desired article(s) or page(s). Others do not and capturing the image will require use of a computer utility such as "Snipping Tool" or "Capture It."

To view all the available historical newspaper databases, click on the "Databases A-Z" tab on the library webpage. Locate the "News & Newspapers" link in the "Databases by Subject" listing. Browse by title to locate the desired database or date range. Again, if you are unsure how to search, simply ask for help.

This link goes directly to the "News & Newspapers" listing: https://www.uwyo.edu/libraries/research/find/subject.cfm?subject=NEWS

The boxes below are organized into categories. Because there are so many ProQuest branded databases, these are listed in three different boxes. One is the current "Newsstream" databases available by geographic region. Another are the historical newspapers for American and some international cities. The third and final are three databases that cover alternate press, ethnic news sources, and gender studies publications.

Other boxes are labeled as American History / Primary Sources, British History / Primary Sources, African-American Newspapers & Primary Sources, 17th through 21st Century Sources, Business, Religious Studies, International History, Latinx / Spanish Language, and others.

ProQuest Databases

There are two major subsets of ProQuest newspapers.

One is their "Newsstream" databases that are listed by geographical region (e.g., U.S. Newsstream, African Newsstream, etc.). These are generally text-only databases, that is, there are no images or charts. If there are such images or charts available, there is normally a link to view these items. Many of these newspapers have historical issues available. Locate a title through the "Publications" tab on the database. Each newspaper will provide the date range that is available.

The second set of ProQuest newspapers are the "Historical Newspaper" series.  These are more specific groupings of newspapers, such as "American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger, 1857-1922" or "Atlanta Constitution, 1868-1984." The description for each newspaper will have a tag of "Part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers series."

ProQuest Newsstream Databases

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Databases

Other ProQuest Newspaper Databases

American History / Primary Sources

African American Newspapers & Primary Sources

British & UK History / Primary Sources

Broadcast News & Other Media

Asian Newspapers & Sources

Business & Finance

Political Science

Religious Studies

Latinx / Spanish Language

Native American Newspapers & Sources

Environment & Natural Resources Newspapers & Sources

21st Century Sources

American Sources:

British Sources:

International / World Sources:

20th Century Sources

American Sources:

British & UK Sources:

International / World Sources:

19th Century Sources

American Sources:

British & UK Sources:

International Sources:

18th Century Sources

American Sources:

British & UK Sources:

17th Century Sources

American Sources:

British Sources:

International History & Sources

Refer to the ProQuest Newsstream databases for additional resources.

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon