LibGuides: Heart Mountain Incarceration Center Research Guide: Other Heart Mountain Resources

Teaching with Heart Mountain Resources

The Library of Congress features numerous resources for teachers about incorporating resources related to Japanese Incareration within the classroom. You can find more information about the resources here.

Teacher's Guide Primary Source Set: Japanese Internment
This guide created by the Library of Congress features primary resources that can be used in the classroom about Japanese Internment.

Denshō has created a free online course about teaching WWII Japanese American Incarnation with Primary Sources which provides the historical background, primary source materials, and instructional strategies you need to teach the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans in the secondary school classroom. You can access the free course here.

The Digital Public Library of American has also created a teaching guide for resources related to Japanese Internment in the classroom. You can access their teaching guide here.

Japanese American Confinement Collections Symposium-Society of American Archivists

2015 JACC Symposium
Come explore collections held nationwide documenting Japanese American incarceration and internment during World War II. From 1942-1945 the U.S. imprisoned over 120,000 individuals having Japanese ancestry from the West Coast and Hawaii, the majority being American citizens, in isolated camps enclosed by barbed wire. These collections provide unique research, pedagogical, and collaborative opportunities covering multiple disciplines: civil rights, sociology, political science, arts and crafts, and sustainable communities.
Collections / Resource Links
Many of these resources offer some type of search tool once you've reached their site. Please refer to each site's "Help" menu for more information on which operators work within their system, Boolean or otherwise.

No-No Boy Project

UW alumnus Julian Saporiti has created the "No-No Boy" project. It is an "immersive multimedia work blending original folk songs, storytelling, and projected archival images to illuminate hidden American histories." The Japanese-American experience at the Heart Mountain camp is a key part of the music and stories.

Click on this link to go to the "No-No Boy Project" website: https://www.nonoboyproject.com/

The website has additional resources, including a syllabus for a 4-week Asian-American studies course or module. The influence of music in the incarceration camps is an important component of the course.

Click the following link to view a YouTube video of a complete No-No Boy show (February 2019): https://youtu.be/4zIeh4UaONs

Click the following lik to view another YouTube video from May 2020 of "Heart Mountain Songs" by Julian: https://youtu.be/PED7PYUjRCo

Other Research Sources & Archives

Wyoming Places Exhibit

Northwest College Hinckley Library Special Collections (Powell, WY)

Ethel Ryan Collection - A collection of photographs featuring the Heart Mountain Incarceration Center during World War II.
Heart Mountain Digital Preservation Project – Features article, documents, and photographs from the Heart Mountain Relocation Center Collection, including the Ethel Ryan Collection.

Heart Mountain Interpretive Center (Powell, WY)

Heart Mountain Digital Resources – Roster of people incarcerated at the Heart Mountain Relocation Center.
Heart Mountain History – Articles about the history of Japanese Americans and the Heart Mountain Relocation Center.

Japanese American National Museum (Los Angeles, CA) – Browse the featured collections to find photos, videos, drawings, and more. Collections include:

Mori Shimada Collection - This collection, originally in scrapbook form, features photographs of friends, family, and social and sporting events in Heart Mountain concentration camp taken by Mori Shimada between 1942 and 1945.
Stanley Hayami Diary Papers – Stanley Hayami was a Japanese American student from Los Angeles who attended high school at the Heart Mountain concentration camp in Wyoming. The diary covers his time at Heart Mountain during World War II.