Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Skip to Main Content

Apply Now to the University of Wyoming apply now
Visit Campus
Download Viewbook
Give to UW

NURS 3020: Cultural Diversity in Family Health Care: Home

This guide supports assignments in NURS 3020.

Related Guides

About the cultural assignment for NURS 3010

This guide was made to support the Group Project assignment on cultural groups in NURS 3010.

Each group will select an ethnic, cultural, or religious group and create a powerpoint presentation about this group.

The resources for this assignment must include:

  • Information about the group, including issues important to nursing care.
    • Use the Cultural Resources tab for a link to library databases and reliable, authoritative Internet websites. A video is provided to help you use the provided resources.
    • Use the Books tab The library has a number of electronic and print books on cultural groups and nursing care. The ebooks are available on your computer. In order to have a print book sent to your home, use the Request It button.
    • For this part of the assignment, Internet resources are allowed.
  • One standard that reflects the expectations of care for any cultural group.
    • Use the Standards tab to find general standards from official agencies and organizations. Remember, these will be general, not necessarily specific to your your cultural group.
  • Each student must use a library database to find an article about the cultural group from a  peer reviewed journal. (DO NOT use a book or an Internet source for this part of the assignment.)
    • Use the Articles & Databases tab for a selected list of library databases. More databases are available through the library web page by clicking on Articles & Databases, then going down the list of subjects on the right to Nursing.

 

UW Libraries Web Site

UW Libraries home page: http://www-lib.uwyo.edu/

Some students prefer to go directly to the library web site to search databases, find books, take the TIP tutorial, etc. This guide is intended to be a starting point, to introduce you to some of the resources. It shows only a small fraction of what is available to you through the UW Libraries' web site. The library has about 700 databases, 80,000 journals, 1.5 million books, plus hundreds of DVDs, CDs and government documents.

Although the web site is available through WyoWeb and the course software, going directly to the web site can sometimes avoid some technical problems. You may want to bookmark it for easy accessibity. Remember to log in using the Off-Campus Access button.

There are some pages and databases that do not work well with Internet Explorer, so Firefox, Safari, Chrome and Opera might work better for you.

To get to this guide from the UW Libraries home page, go to the bottom of the screen and click on the purple button that says "Research, Subject, Style GUIDES". This will bring you to a list of subjects. Go down the list to Nursing. When you click on that link, the guide will be listed there as NURS 3010 Introduction to Higher Education in Nursing.

Question about our home page? Contact the Refererence Desk http://www-lib.uwyo.edu/services/ask.cfm

1000 E. University Ave. Laramie, WY 82071
UW Operators (307) 766-1121 | Contact Us | Download Adobe Reader

Accreditation | Virtual Tour | Emergency Preparedness | Employment at UW | Privacy Policy | Harassment & Discrimination | Accessibility Accessibility information icon