Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)Interdisciplinary indexing database that covers western-language periodical articles and books on East, Southeast and South Asia back to 1971.
India DatabaseA specialized set of full-text, scholarly journals across major subject disciplines, including business, medical, science, technology, social sciences, and humanities. It provides a foundation of around 200 academic journals published entirely in India.
Asian Film OnlineAsian Film Online is a multi-part online streaming video collection of more than 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries, and shorts. With Asian voices addressing Asian issues, and through works selected by Asian film experts, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights. Its themes—such as modernity, globalization, national identity, female agency, inequalities in opportunity amid social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity—are central to any meaningful discussion of Asian culture.
Empire OnlineHistoric full-text archive covering primary source materials on colonialism from 1492 to 1969. This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
India, Raj and EmpireHistoric full-text archive that reproduces British and Indian manuscripts from 1615 to 1947.
Colonial State PapersHistory indexing/full-text database that covers primary sources on British colonial activities in the western hemisphere from 1574 to 1739. Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries.
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 consists of the complete run of documents in the series DO 133, DO 134 and FCO 37, as well as all documents covering the Indian subcontinent in the FO 371 series. Events covered include independence and partition, the Indian annexation of Hyderabad and Goa, war between India and Pakistan, tensions and war between India and China, the consolidation of power of the Congress Party in India, military rule in Pakistan, the turbulent independence of Bangladesh and the development of nuclear weapons in the region.
The files address these events from the standpoint of British officialdom.